Sony Mirrorless Cameras

Sony first expanded their original lineup of NEX cameras to seven still models plus five video models (video dealt with at bottom of page). But in late 2013 Sony decided to drop the NEX name and lump all mirrorless cameras under the Alpha label.

Both APS sensor (E-Mount) and full frame sensor (FE-mount) models are now available as Alpha models, with the four-digit models being APS (E-mount) and the single digit models being full frame (FE-mount).

The E-mount and the FE-mount are physically the same, and lenses are interchangeable, though with possible vignetting and/or cropping if you use an E-mount lens on an FE-mount camera.

bythom sony mirrorless

Data for all the Sony still camera variations:

Sony also has introduced seven E-mount video cameras, essentially NEX cameras tailored specifically to video functions (this site doesn’t provide data details on the video cameras, thus no links):

  • NEX-VG10 (essentially the NEX-5 level configured as a camcorder)
  • NEX-VG20 (update to the VG-1)
  • NEX-VG30 (better viewfinder than VG20)
  • NEX-VG900 (full frame sensor, uncompressed HDMI available, comes with A-mount lens adapter)
  • NEX-FS100 (slight sensor size change to Super 35 and pro-level video features)
  • NEX-FS700 (higher end Super 35 model with 4k video potential)
  • NEX-EA50 (an E-mount version of the NXCAM type of camcorder, popular with broadcasters for remote use)
  • PXW-FS7 (a high end professional XDCAM model)

Available Sony E mount Lenses

Available Sony FE Mount Lenses

text and images 2018Thom Hogan
portions Copyright 1999-2017 Thom Hogan-- All Rights Reserved
Follow us on Twitter: @bythom, hashtags #bythom, #sansmirror